Consolidate And React

The Belle Vue Colts are looking to bounce back from their Arlington defeat by continuing their rich vein of form at the National Speedway Stadium when they host Plymouth on Wednesday, May 2. 

They have dominated their home campaign with emphatic wins against Coventry and Buxton, and witnessed the emergence of several of their young riders as key elements in their revamped septet. 

Joe Lawlor and Ben Woodhull have stepped up their game to new levels in only a short period of time while Jack Smith is coming into his own as a powerful leader in his role of team captain. 

Plymouth meanwhile have made a consistent start to their 2018 campaign and bring a whole host of experienced riders to Manchester in pursuit of points as the race for the league’s top four heats up. 

Team boss Steve Williams said: “Eastbourne was a tough night for us and so we really want to see some reaction from the lads off the back of that, but that’s not something they need to be told. 

“We’ve had plenty of time to regroup and consolidate what needs to be done at home, and we’ve every confidence this team can deliver the goods. But it won’t be an easy task against Plymouth. 

“They have a very experienced core of riders. Adam Roynon and James Cockle are both stalwarts of British Speedway and they have some very promising youngsters like Henry Atkins coming through. 

“But with effort and determination, we believe we can continue our strong home record. The boys are performing exactly as we expect so we see no reason why we can’t come away with the win.” 

The Rentruck Aces prepare to defend their Knock Out Cup title on May 7 when the Wolverhampton Wolves make their way to the National Speedway Stadium for the first time this season. 

Tickets from the original staging of this meeting will be valid on the day, and can be purchased online via the club’s official website and at the stadium box office on race day. 


Belle Vue ‘Cool Running’ Colts: Tom Perry, Paul Bowen, Kyle Bickley, Joe Lawlor, Jack Smith (C), Kean Dicken, Ben Woodhull; TM: Steve Williams & Graham Goodwin

Plymouth Devils: Adam Roynon (C), Ryan Terry-Daley, Henry Atkins, Bradley Andrews, James Cockle, Richard Andrews, Macauley Leek; TM: Matt Bates