Aces Ready To Roar

The Premiership table could be in for a major reshuffle over the Bank Holiday weekend and Belle Vue are determined to tap into their fighting spirit to fend off the challenge of the Leicester Lions.

All eight top flight teams will meet in battle on Monday, May 28 with the Rentruck Aces the first into action at the National Speedway Stadium at 12:00pm ahead of their trip to Beaumont Park.

Following their recent exploits at Somerset the riders had an in-depth discussion with team boss Mark Lemon about their long-term plans for the campaign, with each prepared to go all-out.

Leicester currently sit just outside the top four but with only 7 points separating first and last place there will be nowhere to hide for anyone when the tapes rise on this Bank Holiday blockbuster.

Edinburgh’s Eric Riss steps in at No.2 for the home team in place of the recovering skipper Steve Worrall, with rising reserve Jye Etheridge stating: “We can’t afford to drop more points at home.

“We had a great team talk with Lemo [Mark Lemon] after the Somerset match and the general feeling amongst the boys was that we were a little unlucky so we weren’t too cut up about it.

“But it’s a different story at home. We absolutely do not want a repeat of King’s Lynn come Monday afternoon and the whole team is prepared to go all out to make sure we get the result.

“Leicester have got some strong riders who know our track. But I think with Craig [Cook] and Max [Fricke] back in, it evens things out between the two teams so we should be in for a good match.”

The Rentruck Aces head to Leicester’s Beaumont Park immediately following the conclusion of this home fixture, and follow up with a visit to Swindon’s Abbey Stadium on Thursday, May 31.

The next action at the National Speedway Stadium takes the form of the inaugural Speedway of Nations on Tuesday, June 5. Tickets now available at


Belle Vue ‘Rentruck’ Aces: Craig Cook, Eric Riss (G), Dan Bewley, Rohan Tungate, Max Fricke (C), Jye Etheridge, Damian Dróżdż; TM: Mark Lemon

Leicester ‘Watling JCB’ Lions: Kenneth bjerre, Kyle Newman, Danny King, Krystian Pieszczek, Hans Andersen, James Sarjeant, Todd Kurtz; TM: Simon Stead