No Rest For The Wicked

Belle Vue are looking to further enforce their dominance of the National League when they travel to Plymouth on June 1, while the Devils are hoping to claim their first league points of the season.

The Cool Running Colts are sitting comfortably at the top of the table with 14 points with seven the margin between them and second-placed Eastbourne, who stole a point at the NSS last week.

But the reigning champions will be somewhat patched up, with Kyle Bickley and Jack Smith on Championship duty, Paul Bowen injured and Tom Perry missing due to work commitments.

Team bosses have reacted swiftly to bring in big-hitters Ben Hopwood, Drew Kemp and Danyon Hume to complete the top five, with the unattached James Chattin stepping in to cover for Bowen.

In-form Joe Lawlor said: “Plymouth are tough customers. They’ve got some very experienced and very promising riders and we saw first-hand what they’re capable of when they came to our place.

“It’ll be a challenge for us, especially with quite a few of the boys missing but Graham [Goodwin] and Steve [Williams] have got some great replacements who, I think, will give us a fighting chance.

“We’re pretty comfortable out in front but we’re not content to sit back and relax. We want to keep building on the start we’ve made and pick up as many points as we can in as many places as we can.”

Manchester is preparing to welcome two of the biggest events on the 2018 calendar to the NSS in the coming week, with the highly-anticipated inaugural Speedway of Nations landing first on June 5.

Then, reigning British Champion Craig Cook will defend his crown on June 11 while 15 other British hopefuls, including Belle Vue’s Dan Bewley, look to strip him of his hard-earned title.

Tickets for the SON are available now at, while tickets for the British Final are now available at


Plymouth Devils: Adam Roynon, Ryan Terry-Daley, Henry Atkins, Bradley Andrews, James Cockle R/R, Richard Andrews, Macauley Leek; TM: Matt Bates

Belle Vue ‘Cool Running’ Colts: Ben Hopwood (G), Ben Woodhull, Drew Kemp (G), Joe Lawlor, Danyon Hume (G), James Chattin (G), Kean Dicken; TM: Graham Goodwin & Steve Williams