Stars Outshine Aces

Belle Vue have a tough assignment when they make the trip to Norfolk on October 1 after slipping to a 41-49 defeat to King’s Lynn at the National Speedway Stadium on Monday night.

The Rentruck Aces were dominant in the first half of the meeting, leading by 10 points after Heat 7 despite the late loss of Craig Cook who suffered a wrist injury in Saturday’s Grand Prix.

But the Tru Plant stars were far from deterred as their performance reflected, with Michael Palm Toft their key man, scoring 18 of their 49 points, and was a difficult man to contend with.

Returning Ace Jye Etheridge was in the thick of the action, supporting Max Fricke’s 14+1 with 9 of his own while an on-track disagreement with Thomas Jorgensen led to a clash of opinions.

Team No.3 Steve Worrall said: “Disappointed is an understatement. We went from 10 points up to 8 points down. There’s no two ways about it, we’re gutted to have let that slip away from us.

“Early doors, we were riding the track well but as the dirt line built up it seemed to come to King’s Lynn and they found something that we were ultimately lacking. It was a game-changer.

“But in a way it takes the pressure off us for leg two. The weight of expectation is on their shoulders but we’re not about to hold back. We’ve got everything to gain from next Monday.

“It only takes two 5-1s to turn the tables. They’re not as comfortable as they’d like to be. This semi-final is still fair game and we’re not giving up just because things have gotten tough.”

The fate of both teams will be sealed on October 1 when they travel to the Adrian Flux Arena for leg two, which will be run parallel to the south coast decider between Poole and Somerset.

The club will host its annual end of season celebration ‘The Maugers’ on October 20 at the National Speedway Stadium. Ticket information coming soon.


Belle Vue ‘Rentruck’ Aces 41: Max Fricke 14+1, Jye Etheridge 9, Steve Worrall 6+1, Rohan Tungate 5, David Bellego 4, Dimitri Berge 3, Craig Cook R/R

King’s Lynn ‘Tru Plant’ Stars 49: Michael Palm Toft 18+1, Robert Lambert 10, Niels-Kristian Iversen 7+2, Thomas Jorgensen 4+2, Simon Lambert 4, Erik Riss 3+1, Ty Proctor 3+1