Fricke Storms to Maiden Aussie Crown

Belle Vue captain Max Fricke has taken his country by storm after scooping his first Australian National Championship crown in Kurri Kurri following an intensive five-round tournament.

He began his magical feat with a dominant performance at Gillman on January 3 closely followed by an overall third at Mildura two days later and another A-Final victory at Undera on January 7.

He lead the series from that point onwards, pulling clear of outgoing Aussie Champion Rohan Tungate and Chris Holder by 8 points after blitzing the competition in Wodonga on Wednesday.

Rentruck Aces skipper, Max Fricke, was crowned 2019 Australian National Champion on Saturday at Kurri Kurri

Rentruck Aces skipper, Max Fricke, was crowned 2019 Australian National Champion on Saturday at Kurri Kurri

Needing 12 points to guarantee the crown, Fricke completed his dream start to 2019 on Saturday at Loxford Park with 14 points from his five programmed rides and a second in the A-Final.

Speaking to NRGTV, Fricke said: “It’s awesome! I’m so stoked to win the championship. A win on the night would’ve been even sweeter but Rohan [Tungate] is super quick around here.

“There’s no one better to come second to at Kurri. We had a good tussle the first lap but as soon as he got in front of me, that was all she wrote and it was a deserved win on the night for him.

“I felt good all night. I felt I had good speed and basically the whole championship I felt good. It’s been a fantastic series, it’s been a competitive series and I’ve really enjoyed taking part.”

It was also a proud moment for Rentruck Aces newcomer Jaimon Lidsey who, after a thoroughly impressive series, finished joint 7th in the overall standings with Nick Morris on 45 points apiece.

He now takes a short break before he defends his Australian U-21 500cc Championship crown at Ipswich Switches in Willowbank, Queensland on January 19 against some stiff competition.

KURRI KURRI SCORES: Rohan Tungate 15, Max Fricke 14, Sam Masters 12, Chris Holder 12, Brady Kurtz 10, Nick Morris 10, Jack Holder 9, Jordan Stewart 8, Jaimon Lidsey 7, Justin Sedgmen 5, Zach Cook 4, Ryan Douglas 4, Ben Cook 4, Todd Kurtz 3, Zane Keleher 2, Kye Thompson 1

B-FINAL: C Holder, J Holder, Morris, Kurtz

A-FINAL: Tungate, Fricke, Masters, C Holder

AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: Max Fricke 83, Rohan Tungate 77, Chris Holder 70, Sam Masters 53, Jack Holder 52, Brady Kurtz 51, Jaimon Lidsey 45, Nick Morris 45, Jordan Stewart 34, Ryan Douglas 31, Todd Kurtz 26, Justin Sedgmen 23, Ben Cook 19, Zane Keleher 17, Kye Thompson 11, Zach Cook 11, Josh Pickering 1